Was Split Into Zones By The Yalta Agreement

At Yalta, the big three agreed that after Germany`s unconditional surrender, they should be divided into four post-war occupation zones, controlled by American, British, French and Soviet forces. The city of Berlin would also be divided into similar occupancy zones. The French head of state Charles de Gaulle was not invited to the Yalta conference and Stalin agreed to include France in the post-war German government only if the zone of occupation of France was withdrawn from the United States and the United Kingdom. The agreement calls on the signatories to « deliberate together on the measures necessary to fulfil the common responsibilities defined in this declaration. » During the discussions on Yalta, Molotov added language that weakens the implication of the application of the declaration. [19] The final agreement stipulated that « the provisional government, which is currently working in Poland, should therefore be reorganized on a broader democratic basis, including Polish and Polish democratic leaders abroad. » [18] Yalta`s language recognized the supremacy of the pro-Soviet Lublin government in a provisional government, albeit a reorganized one. [19] What was then called the Crimean Conference took place in the former summer palace of Tsar Nicholas II, on the outskirts of Yalta, which is now a city in independent Ukraine. With the victory over Germany in three months, Churchill and Stalin were more concerned with dividing Europe into zones of political influence than worrying about military considerations. Germany would be divided into four zones of occupation managed by the three great powers and France, and should be deeply demilitarized and its war criminals brought to justice. The Soviets were supposed to administer the European countries they liberated, but they promised to hold free elections. The British and Americans would be involved in the democratic transition in countries such as Italy, Austria and Greece. One of the key points of the Yalta agreement was the approval of the unconditional surrender of Nazi Germany.

After the war, Germany and Berlin were divided into four occupied areas. Stalin agreed that France would have a fourth zone of occupation in Germany, but it should be formed from the American and British zones. Churchill defended his action in Yalta in a three-day parliamentary debate that began on 27 February and ended with a vote of confidence.

Ce contenu a été publié dans Non classé. Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.

Les commentaires sont fermés.